MHA hosts annual award ceremony to highlight and appreciate staff

18 December 2023

Methodist Homes (MHA), the largest charity care provider in the UK held their annual OSCARs awards.

The OSCARs awards ceremony was part of the organisation's managers conference and was the first in person event held since 2019.

The MHA OSCARs is an annual awards ceremony where MHA acknowledge and celebrate the exceptional contributions made by individuals and teams to the ongoing success and care of older people.

Managers from central support, homes and schemes attended The Hayes Conference Centre, in Swanwick, Derbyshire.

More than 250 colleagues attended the conference and awards ceremony and there were 430 nominations for the awards.

There were 13 categories, and all the winners were presented with a certificate, award and prize in their respective categories. 

Anna Marshall-Day, Director of people and communications said: “MHA’s OSCARs recognise and celebrate the amazing work our fantastic colleagues and volunteers do across our homes and schemes.

“We received hundreds of nominations demonstrating that outstanding service takes place across our charity every single day.

“Selecting winners is always tough when every entry is heartwarming, so it is also a great occasion to celebrate all our colleagues and volunteers who are crucial in ensuring we continue to support our residents and members live later life well.”

Below are a list of the winners

  • Care Home Person of the Year (North) - Diana Bellusci (Beechville)
  • Care Home Person of the Year (South) - Bruce Finn (Bradbury Grange)
  • Care Home Person of the Year (Midlands) - Pawel Wisniowski (The Homestead)
  • Retirement Living Person of the Year - Sasha Williams (Grace Court)
  • Communities Person of the Year- Michelle Williamson (Farsley)
  • Central Support/Specialist Services Person of the Year - Dee Van Gellecum (Epworth House)
  • Volunteer of the Year - Alexander Young (MHA Communities Gateshead West
  • Learner of the Year - Amy Armsden (Epworth House)
  • Leader of the Year - Stephen Hill (Stratton House)
  • ED&I Person of the Year - Jaide Foster Howarth (Pennystone Court)
  • Walter Hall Award - Lynn Weaver (Herondale and Kingfisher)
  • One MHA Award - Beth Ward (MHA Communities Gosport and Fareham)
  • Team of the Year ( MHA Rushden Park)